Inductions and useful resources

blog

There’s a lot to take in during the induction period. You’re about to embark on a new course in a new place and you are bombarded with huge amounts of information. I’m conscious of the fact that, for some people, library inductions can add to this information overload. There’s a lot to take in, from how you can access online resources to searching databases to book borrowing.

Consequently, I think inductions are really about introducing me to you and giving you a bit of an overview into how library services at UEL can help you with your studies. I don’t expect you to remember everything after one of my sessions, but I hope you at least come away knowing you can contact me if you need any assistance and that you are in a position to start investigating all the many resources available to you.

To help you manage this information overload, I’ve created a few pages on this blog that can refresh your memory about some of the things covered in induction sessions. Under the “Introduction to Library Services” option above the banner image, you will find links to inductions I have delivered, an induction video for distance learners, a version of the ‘Finding Journal Articles’ handout I provide during the sessions and a link to other useful resources that may help you during your studies here at UEL.

As always though, if you require any assistance with anything, please do drop me a line either via email, Twitter or by phone and I’ll be more than happy to answer any queries you may have. Furthermore, if you want to book a one-to-one session with me to help with your literature searching, get in touch and I’ll be more than happy to assist you.

Leave a Reply

