A quick word before you go…

(Image c/o Riccardo Cuppini on Flickr.)

This will be the last post on this blog before the Christmas and New Year break, much as I enjoy blogging, I will not be publishing any posts during the holiday period!

A few things to make you aware of as we come up to the Christmas break:

I will be available for one-to-one sessions up to and including the 23rd December. After that I will not be available until the 5th January. It goes without saying that this means I will also not have access to emails during this period. Any emails will be picked up on my return on the 5th (depending on the volume of emails of course!).

In the New Year I will be running workshops on how to get started with Twitter. I think Twitter is a really valuable tool for researchers, connecting them with other researchers in their field and helping them to disseminate their research to a massive audience. I encourage you to come and join me at these workshops and find out how to create an account, make it appealing and connect with your peers. Details (including how to get secure a place at the workshop) are available here.

Following the literature searching workshops in November, I will also be running an additional workshop in February, and may run further such sessions in March. The session will be a little longer than the previous ones, with a bit more time to have a look at each of the databases and more opportunity to put some of the learnings from the session into practice. Details (including booking a space) are here. If the session is fully booked, please do add yourself to the “wishlist” so that I can see what demand is like so that I can plan further sessions.

I aim to run further workshops on managing the information overload, plus a more advanced Twitter session (for those who attended the first session plus those who are already on Twitter), in the early part of 2015, so stay tuned!

Don’t forget, if you haven’t already, sign up to follow this blog (see the sidebar on the right) so you don’t miss a single post, follow my Twitter account and also my (shiny new!) Tumblr blog with information literacy tips and more.

All that’s really left to say is I hope you all enjoy your holidays and I look forward to seeing you in 2015!

Leave a Reply

